Updated Cost Estimates for Chernobyl’s New Safe Confinement Structure

Posted: July 7, 2009 in Nature / Human Interest
Tags: , , , , , ,

Current (and failing) Confinement Structure

Not many people know how interested I have become over the last few years on the present state of Chernobyl’s Exclusion Zone but it is certainly fascinating.  I guess the whole “nature reclamation” angle is what draws me in.  Many of the local villages (especially Pripyat) are now over run and turned into ghost towns.   I’ve read quite a few books and tagged along as other bloggers documented their trips over to the Ukraine starting back about 4 years ago.   I’ll blog frequently about the subject as I explore the reasons for my desire to visit the area.

In the meantime please head over to http://www.chernobylee.com/blog/2009/07/updated-cost-estimates-for-che.php to read how estimates on construction costs for Chernobyl’s New Safe Confinement structure have climbed to $1.6 billion.  Likely story!

Comments
  1. Twan says:

    I will check out that link thank you. All other inquiries I have made were through a company called SoloEast.

  2. […] A heated debate that gets more interesting every year.  I hope to visit the area before the containment structure is in place so I follow these stories […]

  3. Twan says:

    Finally got to see it, project is 4-5 years behind.

Leave a Reply

